Valuable lesson #14: If you can’t fix the problem, be it.

July 13, 2012 § Leave a comment

Are you angry?
Posted on July 12, 2012.
When I was young I was angry.
So much seemed to be wrong in so many parts of the world – I didn’t know what to do, I just knew I wanted to do *something*.
Yet changing the system seemed impossible for millions to bring about, never mind one angry teenager.
5 years ago, a small thought changed my life.
I realised ‘the system’ – with its business, jobs and money – is not the problem. It’s just a tool.
Most use that tool to prosper regardless of their impact on others – but you don’t have to.
I started a business that finds ways to use the web – something I knew a lot about – to improve lives.
We make a profit so we can pay fair wages, and reinvest what’s left into doing more good.
This is a “social enterprise” – it puts people, not profit, first. I think the world would be better if every business were replaced with one.
I’m not noble or brave enough to give everything I have to charity – or to fly to a more needy country to lend a hand. But every day I do a job that I know makes the world a little bit better instead of a little more unfair.
I’ll never make much money from it.
But I feel rich – and a whole lot less angry.

Matt

“I used to be angry about how our economic system has royally fucked the world. I got tired of feeling bad, so I decided the system was okay and now I feel a lot better.”
– Matt
For a small intro on how social enterprises and charity reinforce the status quo, click here (or better, here).
Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Valuable lesson #14: If you can’t fix the problem, be it. at You Got Listserved!.

meta

